Frequently Asked Questions
If you can’t find what you’re looking for, please reach out to us by filling out our contact form.
What do I need to do before I make my first purchase at The Botanist?
Kindly call us to schedule your Orientation Appointment upon receiving your Medical Marijuana Card via email. We will set a time for you to meet with one of our pharmacists for a consultation appointment. During the appointment, one of our Pharmacists will assist you in reviewing the menu and different products available, educate you about terpenes and cannabinoids and answer any questions you have. We want to make sure you have all the information you need!
What are the rules for recreational marijuana in Connecticut?
After months and years of debates, the Connecticut legislature approved a recreational marijuana bill which goes into effect on July 1, 2021. Now that the bill was signed, the Department of Consumer Protection, the state agency that will oversee both the medical and adult-use programs, will start to write the regulations.
Q: Will there still be a medical marijuana program?
A: Yes, absolutely. We will continue to be here for our patient community.
Q: Why should I remain a medical marijuana program cardholder?
A: Here are a few reasons:
• Your Medical Marijuana Purchases will remain untaxed.
• You will not be subject to THC Potency Limits.
• You will get grow rights first.
• If there is ever a supply shortage within the State, you as a Medical Marijuana Card Holder will remain a priority when it comes to product availability.
• Our experienced Pharmacists and Pharmacy Technicians will remain on site and available to answer your questions and provide suggestions for your healthcare goals.
Other notable information includes:
This bill allows certain individuals that were disproportionately impacted by the prohibition of marijuana to benefit from this bill, including expungement of records and opportunities to enter and participate in the industry.
Q: Will allotments automatically increase to 5 ounces on July 1, 2021, or will I need to see my doctor to have my authorized limit adjusted?
A: Your allotment will remain unchanged for the next 60 days, while the Department of Consumer Protection collects data to determine when the Medical Marijuana Program can reasonably accommodate the increase to Patient Allotments without creating product shortages. As soon as we have a date and process for increasing your 30 day allotment, we will be sure to share that with you!
Q: Does this mean I can smoke marijuana anywhere?
A: No, there still will be restrictions in public areas where consuming cannabis is not allowed. We are awaiting further direction from the Department of Consumer Protection, but we anticipate that you will not be allowed to smoke cannabis in the same areas where you cannot smoke cigarettes. Marijuana smoking will not be allowed in state lands and waters, including state parks. Workplaces may prohibit smoking on their premises. We will continue to update you as the regulations are completed.
Q: Can Medical Marijuana Patients share their product? Can they gift their products?
A: No. Products purchased by Medical Marijuana Patients are for the Patient only and cannot be shared, like other prescribed medicines.
Q: Will we offer Reciprocity for Medical Marijuana Cardholders from other States?
A: Not at this time.
Q: Will you still offer curbside services for Qualifying Patients?
A: Yes, curbside is here to stay for those who need it! Just remember to call ahead for your appointment.
Q: Are there more protections for housing, employment, etc.?
• Yes. The bill establishes guidelines, rules, and protections for employers and employees regarding recreational cannabis use. It generally bans certain employer actions, such as penalizing an employee for the employee’s use of cannabis prior to employment.
• The bill specifically authorizes other actions, such as allowing employers to establish a workplace policy prohibiting cannabis possession or use by an employee, except for possession of medical marijuana.
• The bill (1) exempts some employers and types of positions from its requirements and (2) specifies that it does not limit an employer’s ability to require employees to submit to drug testing. •
The bill also creates a civil action for employees aggrieved by a violation of the bill’s employer limitations.
Do I need a Medical Marijuana Card to visit The Botanist Montville?
In Connecticut, you must be actively registered with the Department of Consumer protection and select The Botanist Montville as your Dispensary Facility of choice in order to shop with us.
Click here to download our Obtaining MMJ Card Guide
I'm a new patient. How do I get my medical marijuana card in Connecticut?
Here's how to get started!
Step 1. Meet With A Physician. First, make an appointment with your physician. Only a physician can initiate your application by certifying that you are a patient with a qualifying condition with Department of Consumer Protection. In addition to having a qualifying condition, you must be a resident of Connecticut. Your physician will register you as a patient using a valid email address. Please note that if you do not have an email address, you will need to create one to complete the registration process.
Step 2. Complete State Application. Once your physician has certified you, you will need to complete the application on the State of CT’s website, www.BIZNET.CT.gov – Instructions for completing the application will be emailed to you from [email protected] once you have been successfully certified. You may ask the Dispensary Facility of your choice for assistance with application process. The Botanist is happy to help patients complete and submit their applications on a walk-in basis during business hours.
Step 3. Schedule Patient Orientation. You will receive an email from [email protected] upon approval with the subject line, “Patient Approved.” When you receive your printable registration certificate via email, please call the Dispensary Facility to schedule your Orientation Appointment. The Orientation Appointment includes a complimentary, private consultation with a Pharmacist and your first purchase.
Click here to download our Becoming a Patient Packet
Can I travel out of the state of Connecticut with cannabis?
Patients are prohibited from traveling to other states with any form of cannabis, so make sure to leave your medicine behind when traveling out of the state.
How do I transfer dispensaries in Connecticut?
To complete a Change of Dispensary, log in to your Biznet account and select the dispensary you wish to transfer to. This change will take effect immediately.
Call us to schedule an appointment with a pharmacist and receive 20% off your first purchase when you transfer to The Botanist!
What forms of payment do you accept at The Botanist Connecticut?
We accept cash and have an onsite ATM for your convenience. You can also use your debit card with PIN or CanPay to make your payment at the register.
You may use a Debit or Credit Card to pay the registration fees to the State of CT, with the exception of American Express.
What is a Caregiver? How do I have a Caregiver added?
A Caregiver is someone who will help the patient manage their well-being in regard to their use of Medical Marijuana. The Caregiver must be 18 years or older and not have any convictions pertaining to the illegal sale, manufacture, or distribution of a controlled substance. If the caregiver is approved, they may visit the dispensary facility with the patient and/or pick up medications on the patient’s behalf.
To have a caregiver added, contact your certifying physician or nurse practitioner. The Caregiver will have to complete an online Biznet application with a registration fee of $25.
How do I renew my Medical Marijuana Card in the state of Connecticut?
Step One: Make an appointment with a physician. They must certify you online to the DCP Biznet website.
Step Two: Complete the online Biznet application as soon as possible
You Will Need:
A valid e-mail address (ideally this will be the same email you used last year). This should be an email address that you are comfortable using in conjunction with your medical marijuana registration as it will be the primary method the Department of Consumer Protection will use to communicate with you.
Proof of Identity
Proof of Connecticut Address
$100.00 Registration Fee (Debit or Credit ONLY)
Care Giver Registration (if applicable):
Proof of Identity
$25.00 Registration Fee (Debit, or Credit ONLY)
If your physician certification indicates a need for you to have a primary caregiver, you must register a qualified caregiver before the DCP will issue you a registration certificate.
Step Three: When approved by the state, you will receive your Medical Marijuana Card via email
Click here to download our Renewing MMJ Card Guide